The Pumpkin Bread

Yes, I know, it’s that time of year that everyone posts everything pumpkin. I wanted to resist. I wanted to be different. But I’ve had 3 or 4 people now request this recipe, so here it is!

I don’t really like calling it “bread”. It’s more like loaf-shaped cake. But not too sweet. It can be breakfast, a treat with tea, dessert, or a bedtime snack. It’s just all round good.

I originally found this recipe in a book called “Cooking by Moonlight” and spent a bit of time getting a GF flour blend I like and working on timings in different ovens. Sometimes I find the top gets quite browned (almost blackened) by the time the middle is cooked through. I’ve tried it in a regular loaf pan, and in a smallish lasagna-type pan (such as in the photos below) – I thought perhaps the shallower depth might help. Short story: I’m still working on it, every time I make it. But the recipe below works just fine. If you have any further tips for me, let me know in the comments!

One is higher, narrower; the other is lower but wider. Still not sure which I prefer!

One is higher, narrower; the other is lower but wider. Still not sure which I prefer!

Ingredients:

The flour:
If you are not gluten-intolerant, use 2 cups all-purpose flour.
If you are gluten intolerant (which most of you are, since you’re on this site!), use 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 cups of your favorite gluten free flour mix.
I used 1/2 cup soy flour, 1/2 cup coconut flour, 1/2 cup brown rice flour, and a 1/4 cup tapioca flour. I would also normally add a scant 2 tsp of guar or xanthan gum, but this time I forgot – and it turned out fine! Just a bit crumbly (though still very moist).

The dry:
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or a mix of cinnamon, ground clove, & all spice)

The wet:
1 cup pumpkin puree, unspiced
1 1/2 cups brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs, beaten
2/3 cup canola or vegetable oil
1/4 cup orange juice (I have had success with other juices too)
1 tsp vanilla

My brand of pumpkin - make sure it's pure and not spiced!

My brand of pumpkin – make sure it’s pure and not spiced!

Grease a 9″ loaf pan. Preheat oven to 350° F.
Sift the flour and other dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well.

The dry

The dry

In another bowl, mix the wet ingredients. Beat with hand mixer until well blended.

The wet

The wet

Add dry ingredients bit by bit, mixing continuously until smooth.
Pour batter into pan.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Bake about 50 minutes, and test with toothpick. It should come out clean. Depending on your oven, you may need more time – I have baked this in three ovens and it has varied up to as much as 70 mins.

Edit: I’ve had a tip from another gluten-free baker/blogger that better results may be had by baking 10-15 minutes uncovered, then topping with tin foil for the remaining time! Next time I make it, I will try this method, and update again! (Diane is smart and makes delicious things too! Go check out her blog now.)

Perfect! But still a little too wet inside.

Perfect! But still a little too wet inside.

A little dark, but still delicious!

A little dark, but still delicious!

Cool the loaf in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto wire rack and continue to cool. Slice into slabs after cooling.

IMG_7944

IMG_7948

Bonus tip: When I make my pumpkin crab soup, this loaf often follows as it helps use up the leftover pumpkin puree from a large can. And the leftover coconut milk, too! Pour it over your slice of pumpkin bread or dip a piece into a small bowl of it…so good!

One response to “The Pumpkin Bread

Leave a Reply

