The Pudding Popover of Yorkshire

Popovers, Yorkshire puddings – I’m not entirely sure there’s a difference, or which ones these are – all I know is they are fantastically delicious and your life (or at least your roast beef dinner) is about to drastically improve.

Where did I find this recipe? Alas, my memory fails me. I really do wish I could thank whoever created it. Even when I could have gluten, I struggled to make a truly GOOD popover. But here you are. Puffy and tasty. Drown them in gravy or fill them with butter that melts and runs down your arm. Eat an entire basketful and be ashamed while you secretly crave more.

Ingredients:

3 eggs, room temperature
1 cup milk, room temperature (don’t leave it out more than 2 hours to be safe)
1 tbsp butter (or substitute), softened or melted
2/3 cup potato starch (note this is different than potato flour)
1/4 cup gluten free flour blend (I use brown rice flour, soy flour, and tapioca starch in about equal amounts)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp xanthan gum

Preheat oven to 450°F

Grease a muffin pan (or if you have it, a popover pan) and place on lower-middle rack in oven for about 5 mins. I use a small amount of coconut oil for this.

In a large bowl, blend all ingredients. Batter should be smooth and thin (runny).

Zee batter

Zee batter

Pour batter into hot greased pan.
Bake for 20 minutes, then reduce oven to 350°F for another 10-15 minutes.

Poppin'

Poppin’

Pierce the center of each and return to oven for 5 more minutes. Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes.

YUM

YUM

Full recipe makes about 12. (Depending on how big you make them)
I’m currently operating with an oven so small it’s almost a toaster oven. And the day I made these, it was acting up and only the ones on the top shelf were really getting heated up (as you can tell in the photo!) This resulted in me constantly switching pans around mid-bake and thus many of the final product fell instead of staying puffy. They’re usually much bigger! I also attempted to do them in a mini-muffin pan as I was serving a lot of guests and wanted them to go further. Mini-muffin pans were a success! I might continue with those next time. The big muffin pans also work though – it’s your choice! But with an oven that was actually working properly, you may need to adjust the times for the smaller version.

Next day reheat – these actually hold up pretty well in the microwave – I put a pat of butter in the center and zap for about 20 seconds. (and that’s one of the few times you will EVER see me mention a microwave! evil contraptions!!)

Leave a Reply

